Body and Soul

The color of hard work

The color of hard work

There are two kinds of jobs – ones done to feed the body and the ones to feed the soul. There have been only a handful of people in the history of mankind who have one job that fulfills both the hungers – physical and of the soul.

My day job is interesting and I like it but from time to time, there is a craving that gets satisfied only when I make something artistic. And those are times when I am doing something for the soul and not the body.

Today for the first time ever, I held a stall of some things I made, for a fete at my workplace. It took a lot of work and time to prepare them but when people appreciated everything that I’d made, it felt so good that I forgot all about my exhaustion. Now I have always known that I love to create beautiful things and have given most of my work as gifts without really knowing whether the receivers really appreciated what I did or they were just being polite. But today when people, whom I didn’t even know before today, came, appreciated and bought my art work, it did boost my confidence in my own talents. For once, I was on the other side of the table – being the artist taking the compliments and it did feel wonderful.

Thanks to all the people who came by, my morale is high and I am looking forward to participating in more such events. There are so many more things that I do which I have to show to the world :-)!

One thought on “Body and Soul

  1. Pingback: Colours | Reflections on the river

Have your say..

