Funteresting – Episode 9

Wow..this week went by too quickly. It seems I can’t keep track of time anymore because it’s flying without even making a sound.

So what did I get to know this week that was both funny and interesting?

I got to know a very funny expression in German.

“Das kannst du deiner Oma erzaehlen” – literally translated it means “tell it to your grandmother”.

This is used in response to someone’s unbelievable claim (like me telling my mother who knows me very well that I cleaned my home today and it’s sparkling like hers or that I have started exercising for 1 hour each day!). The reason behind the expression is not hard to fathom – only our grandmas love us so much that they’ll believe everything we tell them :-). You can see it in action below!

Friends_5x19_The_Joey_s_Big_scene

And now that I am at it, I will list down some more, which I find really funny.

One of them is “zum lachen in den Keller gehen” – this one translates to “he goes to the cellar to laugh”. It is used in the context of someone who is so serious all the time that one would wonder if he ever laughs or needs to go to his cellar to laugh so that nobody sees him doing that!

Then there are two of them which have their origins in World War I. They are funny now but may not have been so originally.

The first of them is “null acht funfzhen” which is basically the numbers “0 8 15”. This is used in the context of describing something mediocre. It sounds funny now but may not have been so for the soldiers who were given these machine guns MG 08 model 15 which were probably not so good and tedious to handle.

The second one is “Ich verstehe nur Bahnhof” – which translated means “I understand only train station”. The expression is used to convey the feeling that you are not understanding anything in the lecture/conversation. The origin according to Wiktionary is in WWI, when the soldiers were so tired of fighting and wanted to return home that all they could see in their minds was the train station where they would board the train that would bring them home!

There are tons of them in every language. They are the spice of conversation. If they weren’t there, the conversation would be so bland and business like. I love the expressions in Hindi, the language I grew up with. Will get to sharing some of them soon. Meanwhile, if you know of some (in any language) that you’d like to share, please do so in the comments section or in a post on your blog.

If you want to make an entry to the event, you can do so via a pingback to my post, by embedding this url into your post: https://reflectionsontheriver.wordpress.com/2015/09/26/funteresting-episode-9. Details of the event with some ideas for what you can write about, can be found here. You can also find the previous posts on this theme there.

With that I end this post. Have a fun weekend :-).

Have your say..

