A Garden in the "Garden City"

It’s been a very long time since I’ve been living in Bangalore but strangely, I never had a chance to go and see the Cubbon park. So one weekend when I got the chance to go there with some of my colleagues for an event, I made full use of the opportunity to explore a bit of this landmark of Bangalore.
                Now Cubbon Park is an interesting park – it is both a park as well as a thoroughfare! And many may not know, that it’s official name is Chamarajendra Park ! It is at the central location of Bangalore surrounded by many old and new landmark buildings such as the Vidhan Soudha, the high court, UB City Mall to name a few.
The park itself also houses a lot of buildings – like the Sheshadri Iyer Memorial Hall, KGS club etc.
                          I went inside the red colored building which I’d seen many times while passing from inside Cubbon park – that’s the Sheshadri Iyer Memorial Hall – now the Central Library. It’s huge with so many sections that I estimate it would take two days to just skim through each section! The books looked quite old and I wondered how many people would have read them in the last 90 – 100 years!
It was quite pleasant to walk inside the park and explore the stalls  – the bhelpuri, the roast corn, the fruit chaat & the tea stall (that was outside the park) :-). There was enough time in between the event to be able to walk to UB city and come back! I’m sure that the park would look even lovelier in the spring season when all the trees would be in full bloom.May be I’d go in spring too. But for the moment, I’m glad that I got to explore it, which might not have happened if there was no other reason to go to the park! Until next..keeping the eyes open for other chances to explore..

Have your say..

