No place like home?

Someone has said “there is no place like home”. Home may imply so many things – most importantly the place where one doesn’t have to live out of suitcase! I can say that as I have just returned from a six day trip to Kerala. (Details of the trip will be coming in next posts).Other important things that a home offers – being the place where you can sleep and eat anytime you feel like! The place where you can keep your things as arranged or as haphazardly as you want! The place which feels cosy!
Now on the downside, the same place has some not so comfortable things too – like having to make your own bed, cooking the food yourself, taking care of your laundry, and above all, wash utensils when the maid (in Indian context only, of course) takes the unannounced leave on the day you want to take some rest!
I am not sure if others also get a similar feeling but my father and I get the same emotions in this regard – when we are travelling, we crave for the comforts of the home but when the trip is ending, we feel kind of having lost something, kind of having left something behind, a disheartened feeling.That may appear strange to some but that’s how it is.
Nonetheless, having seen lots of places in this trip which were important in the world history as well as of India, makes me feel kind of privileged. I had never thought that the places about which I read in my history lessons as a child, will be one day where I would be. (Similar feeling was expressed by my parents as well!) .
Now that this trip is over, I am reminded of the quote from St. Augustine – “β€œThe World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.” – I can say that I have been lucky to have read quite a number of pages of that book – and it holds the promise of getting more interesting in the pages yet to be turned.

One thought on “No place like home?

  1. hey quite rightly said.. theres no place like home πŸ™‚I have been following your blog for quite sometime and you have always come up with the most common yet very interesting topics to write on…needless to mention, you write really well.. kudos to you.. you make your way into my blog roll πŸ™‚ keep writing πŸ™‚

    Like

Have your say..

